Everyone who was there before us refers to our tiny home as “The Gingerbread House” and Sean kinda likes that. I’ve been referring to it as Tiny Tardis in my own head (and it DOES feel much bigger on the inside). I honestly don’t think it matters much. Usually when I talk about the house with Sean I call it the Tiny House. It’s all good.

So we spent the weekend there and I love it. The house moves with the waves and usually I don’t notice it too much because I feel like move with the house, it’s like breathing to me. If I’m totally still and sitting or laying down sometimes I will feel the waves but other than that I’m pretty wave friendly.

Sean found me a pair of house shoes to use/keep there as climbing up the ladder hurts the feet (it’s just a tough industrial type ladder and our tootsies are tender). I loved sleeping in and waking up to the sounds of the marina and even though it was a bit chilly (as we opted to not turn on the space heater) it was fabulous and warm under the covers – SO GOOD. Quiet and as others around us woke up I took in the sounds of boats and people and it was just…nice.

Sean and I made a trek out to PDX and looked around. We also hit up IKEA and checked on size and pricing for futon mattresses. I think we found what we were looking for and may pick those up in the next trip or so up there. We have the pull out couch but we really want to use that as the couch and save it for company that may come over.

We went and checked out the town strip over by our place and OMG there are a few AWESOME antique stores – one of them is a vendor mall! I’m so going to be going back (AND IT’S RIGHT BY OUR HOUSE!). Found a blue brooch and a bracelet :) Sean found a small stained glass piece for the window so we picked that up too. SO CUTE. There was a very large antique place that we skipped. The next time we are down I’m looking forward to checking that one out as well as going back to the other stores. We can go into PDX whenever we want for thrift store/antique looking, but it’s nice to have stuff literally around the corner from where we live. The next thing I want to find out about is the bus lines that go in and out of our town. I haven’t seen anything so that’s something I need to Scooby-Doo.

While at the Tiny House I took some window measurements and I’m thinking of curtains for one of the downstairs side windows and one of the windows at the top of the ladder heading to our bedroom loft. I love all the light we get in but for night/privacy times I’d like to have the curtains available. I took another look at the loft space and it’s MUCH more spacious than I remembered. This has me pretty excited. It’s not cramped feeling at all and there are a few spots for setting up a spot for folded clothing. SWEET. There is also space enough for a small craft corner. A spot for my yarn and I’m seriously thinking for sewing. I don’t need a large space and the things I make will be smallish so yeah. Pretty excited :)

The thing I took away this time on our way back from Tiny House is that whenever we come back from staying there I always want to downsize more of my stuff. SERIOUSLY. So I need to go through a bag or so of stuff I have gathered and see if I can’t pair that down. Went through my bathroom stuff and got that squared away so now to clear off the kitchen table so I have a place to sort <3

XOXO!

 

 

About darkkatpouncing

Passionate, Humorous, Tenacious, Irreverent: loves coffee, knitting, vintage stores, delicious food & crafty projects!

Leave a Reply

