So it’s been a little over a month since my last post. I’ve spent most of my online-time on FB and Twitter, updating here and there. I’m very happy with the results of my eating changes. No bread, cooked root veggies (except raw carrots) rice or flour based noodles (no noodles right now and I haven’t started experimenting with alternative noodle stuff though I know it’s out there)  and refined sugars (specifically dessert type stuff/sweets).

A year ago I started working at the thrift store. Working in their donation center had me lifting and moving stuff all day and in 6 months I had dropped about 20 lbs. I changed departments and now work on the sales floor and that had me dropping another 10 lbs. I do so much walking back and forth all day long it’s nice to be able to top my 10k step a day goal. I usually do between 12-17,000 steps a day depending on how busy we are and how much they have me standing still behind the register. Usually it’s pretty balanced with floor vs register and I always make my goal of 10k at work – no problem.

I had settled at the weight of 200 lbs as of January 2014. I had a few off days due to not stepping enough on my days off and because I was getting repetitive in my eating in the past month (same o same o and trying to substitute stuff because I wasn’t giving myself enough time to prep fo0d) I had hit a plateau. Well I said fuck that noise and did a reboot. Basically just said START AGAIN to myself and I’ve been getting the stuff I need and I’ve dropped a few more pounds. I’m almost feeling like the majority of this success is my state of mind.

OK in review it’s been an amazing month. In the first week I cut my insulin intake in HALF. HALF. By the end of the second week and conferring with my doctor (who is SO AWESOME BTW) I have been off of insulin ENTIRELY. The Glimepiride dosage I was taking to work with the Metformin I’m taking was also cut in HALF. I am beyond stoked. (That’s right – I said STOKED)

So this no sugar, bread, root veggie or noodles thing hasn’t really been that hard. I thought I’d have trouble quitting ice cream (because DUDE I love you ice cream!) but it wasn’t. Once and a while I really REALLY crave the chocolate but I’ve been ok for the most part. I’m now solidly maintaining a weight of 198 lbs and I’m going to be working more with my steps (specifically on my days off when they hella drop) and see if I can’t lose some more weight. Ultimately I’d like to weigh about 175lbs.  maybe 160lbs. but I don’t want to go lower than that. I don’t want to feel bones is where I’m at with my weight loss.

Since my accident at work last year where I had to go into rehabilitation for my arms (tendonitis) I’ve strengthened the muscles up and though I still have twingy days when I’ve lifted too much clothing (carrying hand fulls of clothes on hangers to put back on the racks) it’s not bad like it used to be and I do the stretches. When needed I have both work and sleep braces to get myself back in good order. I’m truly at a point where I feel good about working with small hand weights to actually tone up my arms and I’ve started doing my squats again to tone up my butt and legs because OMG I can see where I’ve lost the weight there and some toning is in order LOL.

All my size 16 pants that I got a few months ago are now loose on me just a little. Enough to warrant me wearing my Thunder Cats belt that I FB’d about. This is cool. What’s NOT cool is the belt is now a smidge too big, though the bulk of it is helping to keep the pants on my hips just a little. That help is soon to go out the window though if I end up losing even two more pounds but that’s ok. This is the reason to get my self a belt next pay period that I’ve been eying: http://www.alchemygoods.com/madrona-belt.html

So there’s that – the good and meh but it makes me smile.

I cleared out my side table the other night and have not piled or set anything on it. Tonight I clear out the chair and do the same thing with it. No more stuff stacked on it. This is going to be a big challenge for me. I’m so used to just setting my stuff on there. I have a box of satin dresses to go through in my room too. My Aunt’s gave them to me so what I’ve decided to do is deconstruct them and then roll up the fabric for when I decide what exactly I want to make with them. I’m thinking a few skirts and some shrugs. I’m not 100% yet though. I have a large sewing basket/box and it doesn’t have much in it. I’m wondering if the fabric will fit in there. I’m considering getting it in a bag and sealing it up for storage and making it part of my TO GO box. My goal is to only have two bins of “stuff” that I move with me to the Tiny House. We will see what actually happens with this particular goal…

In thinking of ways to save money I’ve decided to try out cloth menstrual pads. I’ve got a few on order and I’m looking forward to checking them out. I’ve made a point of trying three different small at home based businesses. One maker is  from Oregon,  one from MI and the other is from Texas.  I have one that’s already arrived so that makes a total of three for next month. I’m thinking it’s going to be a good thing. I will be mixing in their usage with the last of my store bought supplies on hand.  A lot of people get squirmy with the lady stuff but honestly I’m like WHATEVS. It’s my pocket book and I’ve just been cringing over paying for the tampons and pads the last 6 months. That shit is expensive…and I actually DO think about all that crap going into landfills. I wish I had given it more thought sooner but now is as good a time as any. Once I decide what materials work/feel best to me I’m going to try my hand at making my own.  Others can do and chose how they want to work with their menstrual cycle I’m cool with other people doing what’s best for them – this is for me though and I’m just at the point of wanting to try something different and more earth friendly. Yeah yeah I know I know – I’m a damn hippy. LOLS

Once we transition to living full time in the Tiny Home I anticipate having lots of extra time on my hands and when I’m not doing stuff with Sean I’m thinking about all the crafty stuff I want to do and sewing and jewelry making is one of them. I’m pretty excited about it. I am going to be taking a few classes next month too – get my skill sets in order LOL.

During my time off I’m going to get another bag of donation stuff together to take with me to work next week. I’m hoping to find some of my belongings that I haven’t been able to locate for a while but we’ll see if they turn up. I have a sinking suspicion that I donated them some time ago and just don’t remember or did it on accident. This was before getting the job at the thrift store. I’ll be bummed if I did that and again – time will tell.

Today while zooming around Sean got me a pair of water proof boots that also withstand the cold of SNOW :) Because we got them in person at a the Outdoor Emporium in Seattle that cut out any shipping costs and they were on sale. After comparing prices online we saved over $20.00 and that is always good! I tried them on and they were so comfy. The weather keeps going COLD/WARM and so I can still use them a bit till spring/summer really hits and then pack them away for next winter. I’m hoping they last me a few years at least. My last boots lasted two full years. Because of the rain I ended up using them off and on year round. I think that’s pretty good.

I feel like I keep repeating myself a bit between blog posts here and social  media updates. I’m in go mode though so that’s to be expected. I keep going down the mental check list of things I need/want to do and this blogging is a way to check in with that.

I looked at some pics of me that were taken when I first tried on my wedding dress last year. I see the difference in weight loss. It’s kinda tripy. I’m noticeably thinner than I was last year at this time. I’ve gone from being concerned to being curious about what my dress will look like when it’s done being fitted and tailored. It shouldn’t be too hard to fix, but still I’m wondering if I will need to have a corset panel set up in the back or if they can just bring it in on the sides. I’m hoping for having it brought in on the sides :)

Annnd that’s about it for the ramble-bits.

Love you guys XO

About darkkatpouncing

Passionate, Humorous, Tenacious, Irreverent: loves coffee, knitting, vintage stores, delicious food & crafty projects! I enjoy knitting and vintage shop treasure hunting. Often I'm found roaming between Seattle and Portland passionately gathering materials for future dreamy projects. I have a keen interest in up-cycling, recycling & re-purposing objects. Creative space is shared with my husband in our 500 sq. ft. floating home on the Columbia River

2 responses »

  1. salanth says:

    I’ve been using cloth pads for years now. The only thing about the nighttime ones is that they may shift, so have an old towel underneath you when you’re sleeping.

    • That is good to know. And thank you for sharing this. Yours is the first positive response I’ve gotten for commentary about the use of cloth pads. I’m ok with others not liking it or the idea I just felt kinda “Am I the only one thinking this is a great alternative?” LOLS I wish I had thought about it earlier. I still need to try them out will in full MOONFORCE but I’m kinda excited to see how they work for me :)

Leave a Reply

